Vegetarian and Vegan Experimenting

I am not quite ready to call myself a vegetarian but I have been experimenting with a lot of vegetarian and vegan recipes, lately.  Here are just a few:

  • Spanakopita Loaded Potatoes
  • Quinoa Burgers
  • Mushroom Stroganoff
  • Spiced Pear Chips

 

spanakopitaSpanakopita Loaded Potatoes – If you have eaten at a Greek restaurant you may be familiar with Spanakopita; a delicious savory pie that combines spinach, onions, garlic and feta cheese.  This dish has all those flavors but they are used to stuff a baked potato instead of a pastry shell. These were yummy! http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/spanakopita_loaded_potatoes.html

 

 

 

 

Quinoa BurgersQuinoa Burgers – I mistakenly cooked a lot more quinoa than I needed for another recipe so I went looking for a way to use it up.  These were pretty good and I will probably make them again but add some more seasoning.  http://allrecipes.com/recipe/235428/quinoa-burgers/?internalSource=search%20result&referringContentType=search%20results

 

 

 

 

mushroom stroganoffMushroom Stroganoff – No vegetarian recipe experiment would be complete without a trip to tofu land.  Here is a mushroom stroganoff that is actually two recipes in one.  I had never heard of tofu sour cream. If you wanted you could absolutely substitute regular sour cream (just skip the lemon juice and vinegar.) From the picture you might be able to see that I added spinach and red bell pepper because I was too lazy to make a salad.  My husband said, “Mmmm…that was good.”  Did he know there was tofu in there? Nope.  http://www.forksoverknives.com/recipes/chef-dels-mushroom-stroganoff/

 

 

Spiced Pear ChipsSpiced Pear Chips – And to end on a sweet note here are some spiced pear “chips” that I made yesterday. They are crunchy and delicious. It’s not much of a recipe but did you know that your oven make a pretty effective food dehydrator?  These are just very thin slices of Bartlett pear that are sprinkled with a little cinnamon and ginger and baked at 200 degrees for two hours.  I turned them over once halfway through baking.

 

tools

And since I am talking about slicing things very thin I thought I would include a picture of the various “mandolins” we have at our house.  The one on the left is hard to see but it’s one that my husband had before we were married and he still uses it. The middle one he purchased after cutting his fingers too often on his antique.  And the one on the right is my more professional model which slices and does crinkles and matchstick cuts, etc. Fancy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

