Fall Flavors

Here are some of the things I cooked this week.  Lots of fall flavors here.

  • Smoky Chipotle Hummus
  • Lentil Vegetable Soup
  • Quinoa Risotto

 

Smoky chipotle hummus

Smoky Chipotle Hummus: I love hummus but the plain stuff can get boring sometimes.  I took this version to a Halloween party on Saturday.  The chipotle pepper, red peppers and tomatoes made it a pretty orange color.  Serve it with fresh veggies (carrots, bell peppers, and cauliflower work well) or with pita chips or tortilla chips.  The leftovers are making a great afternoon snack today! http://allrecipes.com/recipe/101341/smoky-chipotle-hummus/?internalSource=search%20result&referringContentType=search%20results

 

 

Lentil Vegetable SoupLentil Vegetable Soup – Here is the latest version of my effort to squeeze as many vegetables into my day as possible.  This is a pretty basic soup that can take a lot of modification.  I had asparagus tips in the freezer so substituted them for the green beans and I used a sweet potato instead of white potato. I also added a cup of whole wheat orzo (tiny rice shaped pasta) to make it more of a meal. http://www.hummusapien.com/lentil-vegetable-soup/

 

 

Qinoa risottoQuinoa “Risotto” – There are more ways to cook quinoa than you or I can even imagine. I wanted to use up some mushrooms so I experimented with this.  As you can see I served it with a side of roasted acorn squash.   http://allrecipes.com/recipe/240243/quinoa-mushroom-risotto/?internalSource=search%20result&referringContentType=search%20results

 

 

Leave a Reply

